What has worship come to today?

To any readers I have out there, this is my first blog post on a topic like this. I apologize in advance if I make a mistake somewhere, but this is a topic that should be researched and addressed!

To start off, I thought I would post this verse that I found while reading Psalms, and it sums up my view on worship:

Psa 29:2 “Give unto the LORD the glory due to His name; Worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.”

In a recent podcast done by “The White Horse Inn” ( http://www.whitehorseinn.org/blog/2012/05/20/whi-1102-the-worship-experience/), the subject of Worship comes up, and whether or not the Evangelical Church has become somewhat detached from the true meaning of Worship. Their observation of the worship experience today is that the Evangelical worship experience has become more self-serving, emotionally based rather than focusing on the true doctorine of worship, or why we even worship at all!

This new insight definetely has me agreeing with them. I have seen first hand what Modern Worship has done to Church services. We can get so caught up in the modern worship, with the cool electric guitar playing the amazing bass line, or the choir, who sings in perfect harmony with each other, that we can forget why were worshiping at all. I notice this in a lot of MegaChurches, where the message tends to be substituted with things that appeal to us as a generation (hence, the amped up worship). In some sense, it is similar to the Exodus story of the Golden calf, because we have made worship our “golden idol”, taking away from the sanctity of Gods unconditional love and devotion to his creations; us!

Worship is a means of praising God for that unconditional love he bestows on us. It is a form of praise, devotion, and love to a Father who never gave up on us. Heck, he sent his Son to die for us sinners! That is what worship means to me, and it is disheartening to see how it has gone downhill since my childhood. Not that every church is guilty of this, but it is sad to see something God meant as good be turned into a tool for our selfish reasons.

Again, not much theological terms in my first blog post, but coments on a topic that we should be aware of. Feel free to comment; I need advice for how to improve my writing online.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

